Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: 5 Weeks post op and waiting  (Read 1338 times)

Offline StaciH

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
5 Weeks post op and waiting
« on: July 04, 2012, 07:29:31 PM »
Hello All,

I am new to this so I am just going to give you the 411, because I am desperate.  I am a 44 year old female who is athletic, but very much overweight. I was playing racquetball with my son in February and sustained an injury to my rt knee. I thought it was soft tissue, but it got worse over time and eventually got to the point where I could barely walk on it and had a terrible limp. The pain was excruciating also. Oh yea, swelling was twice the size of my left leg. Blah, Blah, Blah...

Three or four ortho appointments later, coupled with cortisone and an MRI, they advised my knee cap was out of alignment and I had a meniscus tear. I went in for arthroscopic surgery. He came back saying I was full of arthritis and that he did a menisoscopy. Today reading through these posts I realized that the Ortho never told what percentage he removed. But when he looked at me, he looked at me like I was in for a long hard run and needed a knee replacement. He advised because of my age he would not recommend it for another ten years..

Well now five weeks post op I still have pain, stiffness and swelling. I have been doing pt and biking. When I started biking on a recumbent I could barely do one minute and now I am up to 25 minutes. And the pain, well it's different than before the surgery. Did I wake up some wicked arthritis that was quietly creeping around inside my knee? And if my knee is so bad that I can't lead a normal life why not do the replacement?