Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: New here, tibial plateau fracture  (Read 1044 times)

Offline Danastark

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
New here, tibial plateau fracture
« on: May 19, 2012, 05:14:21 PM »
I'm an active 40-something mom of 2 teenagers and a college student.  I work full-time as a speech-language pathologist and have 5 horses, a big garden and lots to do!  Was walking on our property the other night after a horseback ride and stepped into a 2' deep, 12" round hole my yard guy had dug for a tree, hiding in the grass.  Went down and forward over my leg, trapped at the knee and it hurt but after a couple minutes I got up, walked on it and although it still hurt, figured I just strained something.  Stairs were not easy coming up to the house and it rapidly swelled up and soon I couldn't bear weight so went to Urgent Care where they said I had fractured my tibial plateau, put in a referral to an ortho and sent me home w/ codeine, a brace and orders to stay off it.  I see the ortho next Monday.  This has really thrown me for a loop, hate being so dependent on my husband and kids, when they're at school and work it's frustrating to sit and see my house get messier....and, it really hurts!  When I see the ortho, anything I should ask in particular?  I haven't seen my films so don't know exactly how extensive it is.  Any helpful hints for how to get thru this?  I read something about 3 mo. NWB?  Yikes!  I work for the school district and there are only 3 weeks of school left and HR won't let me come to work.on crutches so I'm out for the rest of the year.  Luckily I've got plenty of sick leave.  Anyways, thanks for letting me whine :)

Offline c3neely

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
Re: New here, tibial plateau fracture
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2012, 06:22:27 PM »