Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: 25 years old, TKR comes up....  (Read 1137 times)

Offline mdk

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 1
25 years old, TKR comes up....
« on: May 19, 2012, 09:53:00 AM »
Hey everyone. I've been here for a while but I think this is my first time outside of the PF section.... close to it anyway. Based on the thread title, hopefully it's pretty obvious why I'm venturing outside -- I need some more eyes on this. For the record though here's a link to my more recent thread. The short version is I had a traumatic injury several years ago, which over time got worse and worse and eventually started getting in the way of work. First surgery was last August, a meniscus repair and lateral release. That one soured real fast and real bad, and ultimately came down to a Fulkerson TTT in January. The results have been..... well let's just stick with understatement. The results of my Fulkerson have been unspectacular.

This week I got myself to a new physical therapist who, upon our initial conversation, concluded that "From what you're telling me, physical therapy can't fix this -- you're going to need another surgery." He proceeded to do a quick exam, and this time the results WERE spectacular -- I think at one point a little mushroom cloud actually popped out of my knee. It was so painful the whole block lost power, you know, it was THAT kind of an exam. When I woke back up (slight exaggeration, but only slight), he said "Sorry for being blunt, but.... You need a Total Knee." To which I replied something along the lines of "Don't apologize for THAT, apologize for BLOWING UP MY LEG" or something, I don't really remember, it actually is all a bit foggy.

Anyway.