Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Hi i fractured my patella 19months ago  (Read 1121 times)

Offline choc4

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Hi i fractured my patella 19months ago
« on: April 25, 2012, 07:22:37 PM »
Hi all,i fractured my patella 19months ago,i had an operation to clear up a few tears i was lucky enough not to have any major work done on my patella as the 3 big fractures i sustained in my knee were detained and no wiring was required.ive been through hell ,muscle wastage was to blame, i built up my quads but i still walk with a very bad limp and i struggle bending down, i cant even kick a tennis ball to the dog.ive been told by my surgeon at the hospital theres nothing else they can do, i have grade3 athritus in my knee.the physio at hospital have said thats all we can do too.so im left high and dry.my knee kills and it keeps me awake most the night, i struggle at work as i work as a welder.i love my job but i relizing i might not be able to do much more.by way my accident happened at work and im fighting work through court for compensation,and my employers denying everything. so its very upsetting not only am i left with a damaged knee ive also sustained debts.Anybody else been in a similar accident?will i always have pain in my knee?doctors told me i not aloud a new knee due to my age.40yrs old.Im gutted and i think my life will always remain in pain and with a severe limp. :(

Offline webster1661

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
Re: Hi i fractured my patella 19months ago
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2012, 04:14:54 PM »
Definitely get a second or even 3rd opinion! Don't give up. How long were you in physio? What did your rom get to? There must be some more exercises using weights that you can work on building up my strength in quads? Just don't try too much too fast or you could end up doing more damage.