Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: MPFL reconstruction possible TTT  (Read 2654 times)

Offline Tiggs1986

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 1
MPFL reconstruction possible TTT
« on: March 30, 2012, 06:00:42 PM »
Hi everyone,
  I am 25 years old and have NEVER had any problems with my knees (with the exception of being Pigeon toed). Feb 3 I was snowboarding on my favorite hill and was going to attempt an Ollie (here's a good vid re: what i was goin to try to do http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gzXKGlJfYYc) I've been boarding for two years and felt confident in trying some terrain park features instead of just "swerving the jumps" I had just lowered my center of gravity and started to lean back when I felt (and I believe heard) a pop to the left then back to the right in my back leg. I fell and was unable to stand. The pain was so bad I was shaking. By the time I left the Ski Patrol lodge I could place enough weight on my leg to limp around. The next morning my leg had swollen to twice it's normal size and was very painful, so I went to urgent care where a doctor told me I had torn my meniscus, gave me a Medrol pack and told me I could be out boarding again in two weeks and be able to continue with my nursing duties (ha!). I decided to use an ace wrap for support and swelling control for work.  About a week after the incident I was seen by an NP, recieved a sleeve, had an MRI,  PT and ORTHO consults ordered, and work restrictions . I was told  the MRI came back only showing some bruising and the Ortho consult was canceled. A couple of weeks later I saw another MD I was told the bone was bruised, not the soft tissue and I had a MCL sprain. PT was started 2wks after the fall and was doing US therapy and have given me some simple knee exercises. One of which was a side-lying straight leg raise that was incredibly difficult to do and extremely painful (it felt like a rubber band was about to snap on the medial side of my knee)-this was obviously canceled at my next a