Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Partial Patellar Tendon Tear  (Read 2757 times)

Offline oohmgrover

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Partial Patellar Tendon Tear
« on: March 11, 2012, 09:01:21 PM »
Good afternoon,

I am new to this and just found you all after furious googling, so please forgive me if I am not doing something correctly here.  I also apologize if this is too long, as this has been going on for two years.

I am a 26 year old female who suffered two injuries to my left knee in the past two years.  Two years ago, I was roller skating (I know, I know...) and I fell forward while going full speed, with almost all of my weight going to my knee just below the kneecap.  An x-ray was done at the time, but the doctor diagnosed it as a severe hematoma.  Swelling and reduction of pain probably took approximately 10-12 weeks, though I still felt pain on occasion and an area just below the kneecap was still tender to the touch and I could not kneel on that knee.  Fast forward a year, and I am running up my outdoor wooden steps when I fall almost on the exact same spot on the same knee.  Same deal again - nothing broken on an x-ray, severe hematoma, never healed right.

In January, I began experiencing left hip pain, and because I assumed I had begun walking incorrectly after one or both of these injuries, my knee was looked at in PT as well as the hip.  While receiving ultrasound treatment on my knee for the second time, I was suddenly in a great deal of pain, and my knee has been feeling just as bad as it did when I first injured it ever since.