Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Lou's Road to Recovery-RPT  (Read 1490 times)

Offline Zlou58

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 2
Lou's Road to Recovery-RPT
« on: December 23, 2011, 05:24:37 AM »
Newbie here. Been wanting to start a dairy for a few reasons. Biggest is to get things off my chest and on paper so to speak and to be able to look a progress!  So here it goes:

Ruptured my left patella tendon on the 29th of November. Not diagnosed until the 6 of  December and surgery was the 8th of December. I did it playing basketball in a pick-up game at a church league!  Mind you I played offensive line in college so had no business playing hahahahaha. When it happened I never felt so much pain at one particular time. Wow.

Fastforward to week of surgery. Wow was I scared over tr surgery itself. THE AFTER SHOULD OF SCARED ME!!!  I just wasn't ready for the no weight bearing, knee locked out situation. Everything sucked for a week from my wife going to work to going to the bathroom. We won't even mention a shower. Out of the question hahaha.  I was on percasets after surgery and holy cow. I was more like cry baby on those than not having pain MEDS. Needless to say. Those stopped quick. My wife had enouhjt hahaha.

Alright now we are at the 15 day post op. went yesterday to get stitches out and see what Doc had to say. Says I need to quad set allllll day, start weight bearing, no bending knee yet.  He is happy with swelling and pain. Swelling is being kept at bay and there isn't any pain knock on wood.  Taking ibuprofen every six hours for swelling and pain. Only took two to see effect. Might be stupid or a great choice. We will soon find out.

Have to mention my rock in all this which is my wife. I know this is hard on us but also our loved ones. This holiday season we need to keep this in mind at All Times. Without those people in our lives we would be stuck like chuck. A song comes to mind to close out today's journal. 

Cause God gave me you for the ups and downs