Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: fat derived pluropotent stem cells for cartilage regenaration  (Read 10989 times)

Offline chandra

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • Liked: 0
fat derived pluropotent stem cells for cartilage regenaration
« on: December 10, 2011, 02:48:20 PM »
Hi...does anybody know the procedure where they clean out the worn cartilage and inject fat derived pluropotent stem cells to regenerate the cartilage. My Doctor claimed that  fat derived pluropotent stem cells  are more potent than marrow stem cells and success rate of regenerating the cartilage is more that 90%.

Offline bananzaboy

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
Re: fat derived pluropotent stem cells for cartilage regenaration
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2011, 05:38:19 PM »
I'm far from an expert but would find that very hard to believe. I think bone marrow derived stem cells would be superior to adipose derived. As for a 90% success rate, that's a high figure for a Dr to be throwing out there. It certainly seems ambitious. What is it based on? Eg what degree of wear, extent of lesion etc? I think if it
 were this good then why would anyone be bothering with bone marrow stem cells at all?

Offline chandra

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2011, 09:13:52 AM »
I have grade 3 chondromalacia and the lesion is on patella....

Offline SW71

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2011, 10:23:53 AM »
I agree with bananzaboy, this sort of success rate is very ambitious. Of course it would be wonderful if that was the sort of success rate that your doctor is actually getting, so for your sake I hope it is true. However, I think it is very unlikely that you will get a 90% chance of functional improvement. For example, see the following link published by doctors at Regenexx.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22023622

If the threshold criteria for success was a 50% improvement, then they had a 53% success rate using cultured marrow stem cells.