Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: How long is the transition from PWB to FWB?  (Read 1256 times)

Offline blader1611

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
How long is the transition from PWB to FWB?
« on: November 16, 2011, 08:27:23 PM »
sorry newbie here so apologies if this isnt in the right thread.

I am 6 weeks post op from having microfracture surgery,acl reconstruction (hamstring graft) and meniscus repair for bucket handle tear. They did these procedures all in one go but for my rehab I am following a microfracture protocol which dictates that I cannot bear any weight for 6 - 8 weeks and I wear a brace which is set to stop me bending my leg more than 90 degrees. Just as an added complication I also had a depressed fracture of the tibia plateau which meant I had to wait 8 weeks before all these procedures took place. This means I have a lot of muscle wastage and not much in the place of firing muscles.
Now you have the background could anyone please help me with some questions? I am due to start partial weight bearing this week but how long does it take to get to walking unaided? Had crutches now for nearly 4 months and I really want to get shut of them.
Other problems I have are still a lot of swelling round the knee even though i ice regularly and elevate for hours on end every day. When will it go? i also still cannot get my leg straight despite exercising my leg to within an inch of its life. Last week physio said I was still at 14 degrees but after she did lots of pushing\stretching i did get to minus 7 although it always springs back about an hour later. Any advice? I have read lots of peoples accounts on here but nobody seems to have gone through the same procedures as me and not many people from the UK.
Would be eternally grateful for any advice about quicker progress tips and also any insight in to the next few months for me?
« Last Edit: November 16, 2011, 08:48:12 PM by blader1611 »

Offline dm

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 19