Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Tibial Plateau Fracture (Schatzker 6)  (Read 3856 times)

Offline smileyshaz

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 0
Tibial Plateau Fracture (Schatzker 6)
« on: November 13, 2011, 09:43:19 PM »
Hi everyone, just found you all and it's really nice to know there is somewhere I can come and ask questions!

I fractured my right tibial plateau on 5th October whilst getting on my friends horse (it decided I wasn't quick enough so moved off leaving me with my left foot in the stirrup and then landing full force on my right leg), I was picked up by ambulance and admitted to hospital (the one where I work as a theatre nurse!) After 5 days in a backslab with ice on my knee I had surgery which involved having 2 buttress plates and 10 screws inserted to try and hold everything in place (upside to working there is that I knew most staff and could easily ask questions - and I got a sideroom for a while!  ;D ). 

My consultant told me that it was a "good" fixation but not perfect as there is about a 1mm step on the joint surface (considering the state my knee was in I'm pleasantly surprised he managed to get it that good!)  I went on the CPM machine the same day as my op and was easily getting 0-90 by the time I was fitted for my cast brace (toe to thigh purple plaster with a hinged knee) and discharged on the 15th.

I'm now 5 weeks post-op (well I will be tomorrow) and am starting to get around better on my crutches (don't feel like I'm going to fall over every time I move), but need to use a wheelchair if I'm going much further than house to car.  I'm non-weight bearing for at least 3 months, which I'm sure you'll all agree is a nightmare!  For the first 2 weeks I was pretty much housebound, as I find crutches difficult due to previous surgery on my wrist, then I discovered that you can loan a wheelchair from the British Red Cross - it's been fabulous!