Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: How do you cope with your knee problems during the winter months!  (Read 1177 times)

Offline Clarkey

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 75
  • Neil TheElephant knee packed up carrying his trunk
With those of us that live in the northern hemisphere winter is fast approaching and are now starting to get the damp cooler days with drizzle and fog. I though my right knee was 85% ok after I had a scope on it in November 2009 to trim the fat pad a remove the medial plica. I would now say my knee is 60% ok as I am now feeling more pain in both knees since the cooler damp air has set in.

The main pain is mainly around the portal areas in my right knee when bending my knee while kneeling and squatting that was more and less pain free during the warmer weather. Is it early stages of arthritis as I have been working outdoors for over 12 years on a golf course so could well be prone to arthritis. Is it a combination of both scar tissue and arthritis as I get the most pain around the portals.

I have maltraking in my left knee more then in my right and sometimes feel pain around the whole kneecap more in the cooler weather then when it is warm. I am not too concerned about my knees at the moment, would just like to know what other members do to reduce the knee pain. I have some swelling at the bottom of both knees that increase after running. I can run more and less pain free and is not too much of a problem at the moment.

Do you take ibuprofen gel or tablets to reduce the pain and swelling and try and keep the knees warm by wearing thicker clothing. Is deep heat or freeze any good at reducing the knee pain as each individual use a certain type of method to reduce the swelling and knee pain during the winter months.

Nick :) {2011} :)

« Last Edit: November 12, 2011, 03:28:46 PM by Clarkey »
RK: PFPS, Arthrofibrosis, Tendinopathy, Five cortisone injections
16/01/18 Anterior interval release, distal patella excision, lateral meniscal repair