Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Osteotomy and getting an employer to cooperate  (Read 1315 times)

Offline clumsygirl

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 1
Osteotomy and getting an employer to cooperate
« on: October 24, 2011, 04:15:02 AM »
Hi all. I'm a newbie here.  My surgeon is recommending a Fulkerson osteotomy on both knees (one at a time), and I'm having quite a bit of trouble getting my employer to be "on board" with post-op recovery time off and other typical accommodations.  I'm wondering what luck other people who have had invasive open knee surgeries have had in negotiating time off with their employers.

I work a white collar corporate job, much of which can be done remotely at home, but there seems to be a general culture that if you're not tied to your cubicle's desk then you must not be working.  I am also not eligible for FMLA leave because I haven't been an employed by them for a year yet.  My discussions so far with my manager and HR have been very discouraging.  They want specifics on how long I will be stuck at home post-op.  Being that my surgeon is not a fortune teller, there is no carved-in-stone timeline, only estimates.  They also will not promise that if I am out for more than a couple of weeks that I will have a job to come back to.  Without FMLA, they don't have to.

All of this has me so worried. I have had several very bad falls this year that resulted in further injuries, and it is dangerous for me to put off the surgeries.  And I am in horrible pain 24/7.  It's a huge quality of life issue.  But, in this economy, I can't afford to be out of a job either.

I'm grateful for any thoughts about or experiences any of you may have with this.  Thanks!

Offline allyd

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 34
Re: Osteotomy and getting an employer to cooperate
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2011, 06:18:54 PM »