Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Osteotomy and screw removal  (Read 10357 times)

Offline Allison

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
Osteotomy and screw removal
« on: July 23, 2002, 06:59:21 AM »
I had a high tibial osteotomy in 1996. It took years to actually make it through a day without pain. I have just had the best year ever since the surgery. Now suddenly the pain is back :'(
Does anyone have experience with long term after an osteotomy? Also, do you think the pain could be caused by the screws?
I was a professional ballet dancer, who was dropped from an overhead lift. I can no longer dance at that level but I continue to stay in shape and am really fit. Another surgery is daunting. I have three little girls who need a walking mom. (my husband travels out of town for his job)
What does screw removal involve and what is recovery like?
I'd love to get some advice....if you have had an osteotomy and how you are doing.
Many Thanks!!!! ;D
Lateral release 1983
Arthroscopic  to diagnose problem1995
high tibial osteotomy 1996 due to osteonecrosis

Offline khaoskat

• Forum Faithful
  • LK - Partial M &amp; L Menisectomy; Loose Body Removal
Re: Osteotomy and screw removal
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2002, 07:03:25 AM »
Allison:

Talk to Woosan.  She recently went through a screw removal, and I don't think she had any problems.  Check out the posts on the old board, or send her a message through her.

Khaoskat

Offline Allison

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • User's Text
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2002, 07:06:03 AM »
Khaoskat
Thanks for the fast reply!!I am new to this site and so happy to have found it. I am just so tired of hurting and it really helps to have support.
Allison
Lateral release 1983

Offline Cari

• Forum Faithful
  • User's Text
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2002, 07:16:08 AM »
Allison,