Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Anesthesia Options For Knee Surgery?  (Read 2949 times)

Offline Chad756

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Anesthesia Options For Knee Surgery?
« on: September 09, 2011, 07:20:15 PM »
Hi My name is connor and im new to the thread

im talking to my surgeon on tuesday to see what is going to be done on my knee, im young and had a ski accident (im 16) and now have a small osteochondral defect and a medium-large one both on my right knee, my first doctor said it will likely be athroscopic through microfracture first and then if that fails theyll will move on to the oats procedure.

im terrified of anesthesia and woke up in the middle of my appendix surgery last time during general anesthesia and i was paralyzed, eventually going back to sleep

is there any way i can steer clear of general anesthesia this time for my knee surgery> it will most likely be microfrature or oats. (this is my first surgery on my knee). i really want to avoid general and really would like to have a spinal anesthesia with sedative or local with nerve block if possible?

has anyone had this before? do i have options? thank you for your time

Offline Sazmo

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
Re: Anesthesia Options For Knee Surgery?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2011, 11:38:30 AM »
Hi Connor

I'm sure there are others on here with a much better insight than me as I'm going for my first knee surgery this week, but can understand your fear of general as the last twice I've had a general I woke up just as they'd finished which the docs were shocked about, as I was supposed to have been given enough to keep me under for at least another hour.

The best thing to do is to discuss your options with your surgeon when you see him this week and make sure he understands what happened and your preference to have a block.

Hope everything goes well for you

Sarah

Offline Clarkey

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 75
  • Neil TheElephant knee packed up carrying his trunk