Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Glycosaminoglycans (chondroitin sulfate injection)  (Read 3503 times)

Offline vetmedgirl

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 0
  • Go POKES!
Glycosaminoglycans (chondroitin sulfate injection)
« on: November 25, 2003, 04:26:28 AM »
Hi yall,

I am a 2nd year veterinary student and in pharmacology we have been talking about substances used in treating osteoarthritis.  There is a drug used called Adequan which comes as an injectable (IM) and contains  polysulfated glycosaminoglycans (mostly chondroitin sulfate).  While working at the vet clinic during the summers we used this "drug" quite a bit, usually in horses, and also in dogs with hip dysplasia.  It is supposed to promote synthesis of cartilage matrix components such as collagen, and inhibits catabolic enzymes (the enzymes that break down stuff) and a certain prostagland (PGE2-inflammation prostaglandin); therefore it is a chondroprotective that inhibits inflammation and degradation of articular cartilage and improves the viscosity of synovial fluid.  The usual routine for dogs is a 1cc injection in the muscle (hind limb) once or twice a week for four weeks then every other week.  This seems to work miracles in dogs for relief of pain anyways.  I've seen dogs that wouldn't even stand on hind limbs before and after about 3 weeks of treatment come running in jumping around and very happy.  I was wondering if there is a human equivalent to this.  I hear of people getting synvisc injections in the joint, I am assuming this is hyaluronic acid injections or something like that, but anything like this that is injected into muscle??  I was told that oral chondroitin is pretty much useless because the body can not absorb it.  Anyways hopefully I can get some info.
Rt Knee Torn ACL, medial meniscus, MCL in -Dec 97
ACL Reconstruction, medial meniscus repair-Jan 98
Partial Lateral meniscectomy, Patellar and femoral chondroplasty in both knees - August 03

Offline OSDKnees