Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Prob meniscus tear; PT had me doing squats - now much worse  (Read 1281 times)

Offline momdogz

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
First noticed injury in April, have been to primary MD and an orthopod; probable meniscus tear but I think they were trying to rule out pain from OA (though I was quite sure it was meniscus).  Have been getting PT, and postural realignment seemed to help intermittently.

Pain is medial aspect of knee, at it's worst it wakes me up/keeps me up at night.  My knee also feels full like there is peanut butter wedged in it somewhere; clicks/pops and catches.  I've lost some extension ROM, and now also flexion.  I stopped working out and riding my bike (pain).

On Tuesday, the PTist had me try some squats with the red ropes.  I was really hesitant, but went as far as I could until it just started to hurt.  I left the PT office more lame than when I went in.  Wednesday, more lame/limping (I'm a nurse and do a lot of walking), Thursday really hard, Friday - awful.  I tried to make the 1 hour drive home and had to have my husband come get me because I was in agony (it's my right leg and I have a standard transmission truck).  I'm now walking on crutches, and taking opiate analgesics at night so I can sleep. 

This may seem too obvious to ask, but would like feedback.  I should have listened to myself about the squats, right?  I probably made the meniscus tear worse?

I did have a long awaited MRI this morning, and have another ortho appt. on Tuesday, fortunately.  I think it's time to take care of this - I can't walk!

Offline momdogz

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
Re: Prob meniscus tear; PT had me doing squats - now much worse
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2011, 12:18:02 AM »
Disappointed; 39 views and no responses.  Maybe no one else that viewed had had meniscus problems.  Will try another forum.   :-[

Offline dennisd

• Regular Poster
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2011, 12:32:03 AM »
Hi there,