Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: BAH, information needed on a Medial Right Patella Plication  (Read 933 times)

rumseyl

Hey all, so this is my first time posting here and I have some questions about my surgery that I've just recently had. I don't know if any of you have heard of a Medial Right Patella Plication, but that is what I just had done. My Surgeon said he would like to try this procedure before an ACL reconstruction and it is usually successful and less intense, and the recovery time is significantly less. However, this surgery isn't very common and I am having a difficult time finding any information on it at all. All I really know about it is that it is to correct the subaxulation of the patella that I have been suffering from that, unfortunately, a lateral release and arthroscopy could not correct. I am in the phase of starting physio therapy and am kind of wondering what all the surgery itself encompassed and what I can expect for the rest, and most important part, of my recovery. What is the pain going to be like, what sort of approximate goal marks should I be looking for? About how long am I going to be in physio therapy rebuilding my ROM and knee strength? If anyone can help me I would greatly appreciate your input as I am kind of in the dark about this, and am looking to know what to expect, and what to avoid.

Lisa
« Last Edit: June 20, 2011, 06:35:32 PM by rumseyl »

Offline Clarkey

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 75
  • Neil TheElephant knee packed up carrying his trunk
Re: BAH, information needed on a Medial Right Patella Plication
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2011, 05:26:05 PM »
Hi Lisa,