Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Elmslie Trillat with medial patello-femoral reconstruction.....  (Read 1346 times)

Offline LoubyLou

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Hi, After dislocating my L/K 3 years ago I have had nothing but trouble with it. I had an MRI scan and was told that my knee cap was smooth, diamond shaped and mis aligned. My R/K has gone the same way now. The operation I am having is Elmslie Trillat procedure with medial patello-femoral reconstruction. The surgeon explained what was going to do but not how. He reckoned 2-3months off work but didn't mention if I would have screws or a cast on. Can't find anything on the internet except scholar sites which don't really mean much to me as I am not a doctor. Has anyone had this operation or can anyone tell me what to expect?

Thanks in advance  :)

Offline Kmcsmiles

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • Liked: 1
Re: Elmslie Trillat with medial patello-femoral reconstruction.....
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2011, 03:43:07 AM »
Hi
I have no idea what a elmsie trillat is, but I had a mpfl reconstruction. So I can't  speak to your first procedure, only the second.  And honestly I also ended up having my lpfl reconstructed as well so I don't know how  that much affected my procedure.  A mpfl reconstruction  is very painful at first, but it does get better.  I couldn't bend my knee at first and needed a shower bench to use my bathtub shower.  Also I recommend taking all the pain meds at regular intervals the first few days even if you think you don't need to.  I needed a lot more help the first days than I thought I would.  I would plan on having full time help at least the first 3 days!  Again I don't anything about your first procedure.  Good luck!

Kendra
12/20/89: diagnosed hypermobility joint syndrome
88-96 numerous checks/mri's on knee pain
91- left knee dislocate
93-96 rt and lt knee lateral release, plica removal
12/09 dislocated rt knee
09/10 rt knee mplf and lpfl reconstruction