Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: First patella dislocation (traumatic), have a few questions...  (Read 9052 times)

Offline Katiekorn

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting after a month of reading many of the topics on here.

My story:

I'm 24, female, and have never had any knee problems. About 6 weeks ago, I was roller blading and wasnt able to stop while going fairly fast (I was going downhill). I tried to grab a pole to slow me down, but it turned out to be made of fiberglass and just shattered into pieces. So I crouched down and prepared to crash lower to the ground. The lower part of my left leg went left, while the rest of me went straight with all the momentum behind it. I felft the twist, the point of where it would not twist anymore, and then my patella went laterally. I ended up landing on my other knee (which is fine) and while laying on the ground, pulling as hard as I could, pulled my patella back into its groove (I didn't know straightening the left would achieve the same goal, but after reading the many posts here, now know)

I could walk after about 5 minutes of sitting there and cursing, but went home and iced it. By that night, my leg felt like it was going out with each step, and was so swollen I couldn't even see my knee cap. So I went to the Dr. the next day, which referred me to the OS. They took about 2 or 3 different x-rays.† OS said that there was no fracture, but he wasnít able to manipulate my leg as I was too tense because of the pain and swelling. So he gave me a brace locked in extension and told me to come back in 5 days,† that I could put weight on it as tolerated, and to take those days off of work. He also told me to tense up the muscles a couple times a day to avoid the atrophying.