Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Looking for IT band suggestions  (Read 1064 times)

Offline amoler

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 0
Looking for IT band suggestions
« on: April 27, 2011, 10:41:22 PM »
All my decades of damage, combo'd with years of limping and the last injury have caused all sorts of IT band pain. Lately it's worse than the actual knee pain. I've been doing physical therapy for a couple of months now, no real relief. Last couple of weeks, we've been added more stretches and truthfully that seems to making the pain way way worse. Anybody got a suggestion on something I can do to fix/help/solve this? I am soooooo frustrated. >:(
'77- Rt knee menicus tear
'90 -2nd menscus tear
'91 -failed arthroscopy/partial menisectomy
patella dislocation 10/ 2010
Dx = grade 4 chondromalacia + synovitis + Meniscus tear + lax strained medial ligaments
Fall down the stairs 7/20/11 - mcl sprain + 2 meniscus tears

Offline TwoBadKneesUSA

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • No matter how bad it is, my dog still loves me!
Re: Looking for IT band suggestions
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2011, 03:50:25 PM »
You can try a foam roller to help streach and relax the IT band.  I use a tennis ball and rub it up and down the IT band.  Yes it hurts, but it feels much better later on.  I also found that doing the streaches after a warm bath or shower helped too.  This is a frusterating problem that requires diligence and patience.
'83 lt knee scope
'88 lt knee LR
'89 rt knee LR (6 mos. after left)
'05 rt knee scope (clean up)
7/5/07 - scope, LR left, right clean
3/19/08 - LR failed, Supartz failed
http://www.kneeguru.co.uk/KNEEtalk/index.php?topic=47974.0
8/21/08 - new OS apt
8/5/09 - TTT, LR, PFJR sched.

Offline mollyc

• SuperKNEEgeek
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2011, 06:06:53 PM »