Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Multiple ligament reconstruction - outcomes/encouragement???  (Read 8907 times)

Offline scouty_lugs

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Multiple ligament reconstruction - outcomes/encouragement???
« on: April 21, 2011, 01:50:15 PM »
Hi all,

I'm new to the board...only 3 weeks post op right now, hurting and worried about the future  :(

So - here's my story. 3 weeks ago I was playing soccer and out of the blue I destroy my knee. No tackle, no collision, just me having a gumby run and my lower leg goes 90 degrees the wrong way. It was a pre-season match, I've been training hard 4-5 days a week for 3 months leading up to the season (so very fit) and now bam - I'm out of it and being told I may never run again.

Somehow I've managed to completely tear all the ligaments and tendons in my knee with the exception of the MCL....so completely ruptured the ACL, PCL, LCL, Posterolateral corner and tore most of the hamstring tendons away in my fall.... only thing holding the tib to the femur was the MCL which had a tear, but stayed in tact. My surgeon said they usually only see this degree of damage from motorbike or car accidents - they'd see maybe one of these a year that was'nt an impact/accident injury.... sigh!!

Anyway, a week later I had total reconstruction for all of the above (allograft for both ACL and PCL which was lucky) and the surgeon seems happy with the surgery....which is good - however, he's hoping for an outcome where I can walk again without a limp or pain.... no more. This has got me worried.

Pre accident I was very active. In any given month I would usually: play and train for soccer (4 times a week), play tennis (twice a week), kickbox (2-3 times a week), surf (in summer 2-3 times a week), wakeboard and waterski (1-2 times a month in summer), spearfish and scuba dive (maybe once a month in summer), run with my son (2-3 times a week).... the idea of losing all this is devastating to me.