Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: High Tibial Osteotomy or half knee replacement?  (Read 26105 times)

Contractorarsenal

High Tibial Osteotomy or half knee replacement?
« on: March 29, 2011, 05:35:05 PM »
Hi,

I'm new to all this.
I've had two tears in my medial miniscus on my left knee within a year.
After key hole surgery I have torn it again.
I've been told my knee has 'collapsed' due to lack of cartilage but there has been no mention of Arthritis.
My new consultant (not my choice) has given me the choice of HTO or HKR.
I'm currently wearing a brace whilst I make a decision.
I'm 53 and very active. I ski, play golf, dance and enjoy hiking long distances.

I want to make the right choice for my lifestyle. Has anyone had to make a similar choice?
I've also heard the Osteotomy is very painful and you can be out of action for up to 9 months recovering from trhe precedure.

Look forward to hearing from someone.

Mike

Offline Scooby

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
Re: High Tibial Osteotomy or half knee replacement?
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 10:14:20 PM »
Hi Mike

I had an HTO and microfracture with external fixator 10 months ago.  I am 39, a keen hockey player and was told HTO was the best option for me to enable me to get back to sport and to avoid having knee replacement as I was too young.

I did find it painful, but I think this was due to the external fixator (metal rods coming out of your leg, a bit like scaffolding!) which I had on for 3 months, rather than the bone break.  I did not have any internal pins or screws, which I gather can be a cause of some of the pain.

My knee has not recovered properly, although MRIs show that the microfracture has filled in the defect in cartilage and the osteotomy site has healed well, but I now have pain under my kneecap, which I think has got worse since they have realigned my leg.  Seeing the consultant again Friday to see where we go from here.