Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Should I still exercise with a fully ruptured ACL?  (Read 1832 times)

Offline Sandy_lad

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Should I still exercise with a fully ruptured ACL?
« on: March 06, 2011, 10:32:59 PM »
            Hey there! Wow, what a wealth of experience out there! Hope some people might be able to give some advice on my knee.
Injured my right knee badly playing futsal in Nov 09. Instant pain and instability, followed by swelling by the time i got home an hour later. The next few days were spent hobbling at work but got through it and within a few weeks wasn't limping but couldn't fully straighten my leg. Didn't get any medical advice at this stage. Obviously didn't play again for a few months, but by the time outdoor soccer training started, it was feeling better so i started training slowly, and by the time the season started, it was feeling strong and stable. Decided, just in case, to see a recommended Phsio and get his opinion before i played. After hearing about the injury, doing various manual tests, and performing exercise in his office waiting room, he concluded I might have a slight medial meniscus tear, but should be right to play. Played 3 full games with no problems. Knee felt strong, could turn, stop and it felt 100%. During the 4th game, tried to break the back of the net out and fully extended my knee which cause some pain and later swelling. Went back to the physio, more tests. Sent for an MRI. Result. Full rupture of ACL but no damage to either meniscus. Sent to Surgeon. By the time i got to see the Surgeon, 2 months, and with exercise given by the Physio, knee was feeling stronger than ever. Surgeon cinfirmed the ACL rupture, but agreed the stability was good for the absence. He explained that unless it was giving way regularly, or i wanted to return to competetive soccer, there was no rush for the surgery. He also suggested that unless it was giving way and unstable, and i was able to