Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Iliac crest bone graft  (Read 11643 times)

Offline roze87

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Iliac crest bone graft
« on: January 19, 2011, 09:44:37 PM »
Hi

To cut a long story short, I am due to have a bone graft taken out of BOTH my hips and stuffed in the hole where my surgeon butchered up my left knee and misplaced the screw after his 3rd,..and final acl recon. There is alot of history with this knee ie initial lateral tibial plateu fracture, failed acl recon due to infection, and acl failure now i hav a loose screw in there floating around and have no acl and lateral collateral ligament,a plc and acl reconstructions will follow...so i am not new to knee surgery

I am new to this however, i believe this is the last of my chances now, and I am exceptionally nervous about this operation in 1 weeks time. My new surgeon is going to take a bone graft from both my hips, and graft it in the rotten knee and take the floating screw out. I have been warned of the pain. Can someone who has had similar operaiton shed some light on what to expect eg, the pain in my hip, i am led to beliieve is worse then the knee sight.

Just any comments at all on any thing to do with a hip bone graft, preferably from someone with first hand experience would be great!

Thanks!
06/04 Fell - Fractured tiibial plateau, femur, patella, torn acl
ORIF and bone graft of tibial plateau
09/08 failed acl recon due to wound infection
06/10 failed revision acl with pcl/lcl/plc damage
now facing multiligament surgery

Offline missmyknee

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 23
  • From the Land of OZ
Re: Iliac crest bone graft
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2011, 11:19:08 PM »
Hi