Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Lingering soreness & fragility - 6 months after meniscal repair  (Read 2402 times)

Offline dyfanevans

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Lingering soreness & fragility - 6 months after meniscal repair
« on: December 26, 2010, 09:11:28 PM »
Hi,

I need some information/help regarding rehabilitation following a medial mensicus repair. I'll give you some info regarding my position:

Prior to August 2009 l was a 26 year old keen, competitive cyclist participating in Cat 4 and 3 races, criteriums and the occasional XC mountainbike event. I had been riding and racing seriously for around two years, and was training around 150-200 miles a week.

In August l was riding home from work when l felt a sustained pain below my right kneecap. I visited a knee surgeon who diagnosed a medial plica, which he excised as well as repairing a small tear in the medial meniscus (which was asymptomatic). Cue 6 months of difficult rehab and the gradual loss of fitness and strength. I am swimming regularly but nowhere near enough to counter the effects of being off the bike.

Unfortunately this was not the end of it, as come May 2010, l felt a sharp pain on the medial side of my left knee. There did not seem to be any particular cause - the pain came on gradually over a few days. Another MRI showed a longitudinal tear of the posterior horn. This was repaired in early July, and l am slowly managing to do some slow, steady miles on the bike, and some specific gym work to increase the strength in both legs.

I have suffered a few painful setbacks with both knees - nothing permanent but I'm pretty sure that 17 months out because of meniscus repair is not a regular occurrence. My most recent repair still gets very sore for the best part of a week following anything more strenuous than a gentle ride, and l have had to rein my gym work in to avoid the pain. I also have to avoid walking very far as this seems to set my knee 'off'.