Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Grade 3 or torn CML?..Newby without insurance..  (Read 616 times)

Offline showumsuccess

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Grade 3 or torn CML?..Newby without insurance..
« on: December 21, 2010, 07:32:05 PM »
 I am looking for advice and some confidence really on what I should and shouldn't be doing now from peeps who have had the same kind of injury. Maybe share what you have done that may help me.
 I was kicked on the outside of the leg, just above the knee, by a large older horse.
 From what the injury feels like, and what a nurse friend has said and what I've been able to determine from online info. is that I either severely sprained, grade 3, or tore my collateral medial ligament.
 I do not have insurance...I train horses for a living and can not work now and my husband is facing unemployment again. I've already sold my best horses to put a roof over our heads so please don't tell me I need to see a Dr. I know I do but it's just not possible so I am gonna have to rely on others that have gone through something similar and time.
 My questions are...what should I be doing?
It's been 4 weeks today..I iced the knee every 2 hours for 2 days and took anti-inflammatory for two weeks.. The swelling is down.
 I can walk without crutches now and even walk up steps with minimal pain. It hurts unbearably though to move the knee at all side to side. I wear a hinged knee brace constantly when outside and most of the time when inside to prevent this from happening.
 I can bend the knee now getting my heal almost to my butt but the first 2 or 3 times it hurts like heck just to bend it past the 45 degree angle...after then it's still tight but bearable.