Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Longevity of the transplant?  (Read 4241 times)

Offline kevinnjaime

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 0
Longevity of the transplant?
« on: July 07, 2009, 02:32:01 AM »
Hey all,
Just had a scope done and my os wants to try an OATS procedure after a ACI failure.  I am trying to do some research before I commit to it.  I am a police officer and in order for me to return to work I have to be back to full active duty which includes running, jumping, kneeling and anything else that may come up that I have to deal with.  I was also wondering if anyone knew what the longevity of the transplant was?  Is it a lifetime repair or is it more like 10-20 years?  Thanks for any input.

Kevin
05-07 Meniscus tear cut out
07-07 Carticel implantation femoral condyle on left knee
03-09 Reinjured same knee during a car accident

Offline emelle

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
Re: Longevity of the transplant?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2009, 03:24:52 AM »
I recently had an OATS done on my lateral femoral condyle.  My OS says that "theoretically" it should last a lifetime, but also recommended no more running for me if I want it to last as long as possible. He says he has patients who defy that advice (one of his patients ran a marathon post-OATS), but they are upping the risk.  The surgery has not been studied long term, from what I know, so how long it really lasts is unknown.  My thoughts are that it seems like the recipient site should last if taken care of - afterall the plug(s) put in are the same as what nature gave you (hyaline cartilage and bone).  But I'm concerned about the donor site, which no longer has cartilage and seems vulnerable to future degeneration.  Allograft from a cadaver is better in this regard...

Offline emelle

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2009, 03:26:15 AM »
Forgot to mention that I have seen studies showing that OATS knees were still good after 10 years.  But haven't seen anything longer than that.