Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Surgery  (Read 969 times)

Offline JTrempe219

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Surgery
« on: November 12, 2010, 05:32:13 AM »
Hi,

I am a physical therapist.  Most likely the cyst will be removed.  Meniscus tears are common and the surgery is one of the least complicated of knee surgeries.  Still, for recovery purposes it will take a few days to get off of crutches and a number of weeks to return to full function. 

For more info on what to expect with meniscus tears and surgery, visit:  http://www.joint-pain-solutions.com/meniscus-tear.html

~JTrempe PT, ATC

Offline Kimberly 77

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 1
Re: Surgery
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2010, 04:13:34 PM »
You say you are a physical therapist. My new OS just informed me that the excercises my Pt gave me are wrong for my condition. My surgery papers said I had fracturing and delamination of the articular cartilage in the medial femoral condyle. They had me doing leg lifts and side leg raises with a 4 lb. weight. He has changed my routine to just quad sets. My question to you is could the stuff he had me doing have damaged my knee further? I was feeling some improvement right after surgery but in the last few weeks I have progressively gotten worse again. Thanks for any insight you may have and any suggestions.
Right leg amputee.
Osteoarthritis in left knee.
Medial femoral condyle defect, arthoscopy 8-2-10
Grade 3 defects, patella, medial femoral condyle, tibia scoped1-12-2011
Physical theraphy and awaiting microfrature 2-1-12

Offline kscope09

• SuperKNEEgeek
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2010, 05:43:48 PM »
I couldn't teel you really but I woudl say it probably aggrivated it and prevented it from settling down.