Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Slip & Fall accident, severe knee pain..  (Read 2416 times)

Offline sbkc

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Slip & Fall accident, severe knee pain..
« on: November 11, 2010, 11:12:55 PM »
Hello, This is my first time posting here... but I've got some questions..  and I'm sorry if I've posted this in the incorrect section of the site..

4 weeks ago I slipped in a puddle of water in a store and heard 3 pops/crunches in the process of my fall, which was the most painful experience in my life.  I'm 22 years old and of normal weight for my height.  I was taken to my local hospital where they did x-rays and said there was no break, only a sprained knee, and I should go home and rest.  After 24 hours and  no improvement only more significant pain, I went back to the hospital and had to have my knee drained.  At this time, my knee was the size of a medium sized melon.  The OS I saw told me it was too soon to have an MRI done but from the drainage (80 CC's) it was most defiantly soft tissue damage and SOMETHING was torn.  He ordered me a wheelchair and said if I am not in bed, I need to be in my chair or using crutches, not to apply weight to my leg and come back in 2 weeks.

After 2 days all of the fluid returned and I called the OS asking to come in sooner and he said I didn't need to and this was all normal.  I went to the ER because the pain was unbearable and they did an MRI at this time.  The ER doctor said he consulted with an OS and the MRI read that my knee cap was broken.  This doctor said "its as if some one took a baseball bat to your knee cap".

So I went to the doctor 10 days after that appointment and the doctor then said that I didn't break my knee cap, I broke my femur and all of the same things apply, don't bare weight, get lots of rest, don't do anything strenuous to my leg.