Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: which op to go for!!  (Read 1274 times)

Offline tessie

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
which op to go for!!
« on: October 19, 2010, 02:02:00 PM »
Hi all,

I'm new to this so hope I've posted on the right board?!!

Basically I have flat trochlear groves and very small, tilted patella's in both knees which didn't give me an issue until I was 37!! (no trauma involved)

I'm in a real dilema over which op I should go for on my left knee, a LR or TTT? My surgeon has given me next to no info on the TTT only to say it's x6 more complicated than the LR and he wont give an opinion only that he could perform either.

I have had a real horror story on my right knee, basically I recieved no PT after a LR back in Dec and am no way near recovery (limited ROM, atrophy and a new complication of sudden giving way - to the point of hitting the floor!)

I still don't know if ithe LR was a success or not but I can't progress any more with rehab (I now have a great PT) because my left knee won't support it.

According to the surgeon I had an abnormal reaction to the LR and my PT also said it was the worst reaction she has ever seen however no one can tell me if it is likely to happen again on the left side or if it was due to the fact I recieved no rehab after (despite camping out in the ortho dept on Xmas eve!!)

I would be really interested to hear from anyone who has had a similar experience as I am finding making a decision really hard, my surgeon now won't see me until I've made up my mind and I've been told to phone his secetary once I know which procedure I want him to perform. My PT is also really worried my right leg won't support my left leg after the op but I seem to be stuck between a rock and a hard place!!! Any help or advise will be great as I really can't go on with the constant pain!!

Cheers all!!

Offline TwoBadKneesUSA

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • No matter how bad it is, my dog still loves me!
Re: which op to go for!!