Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Im new at this but I had a Fulkerson Osteotomy and have questions.  (Read 895 times)

Offline HonorShort

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
I am 26 years old and had a Fulkerson Osteotomy on my right knee on the 29th of September so a little over 2 weeks ago. I have issues that are bothering me so hopefully somebody out their can give me some answers. First thing is that when i got out of the hospital they gave me a list of exercise to do to get the mobility back. I can do all of the exercises but one. I don't have a problem bending my knee but there is an exercise where you put a pillow under your knee so it is bent and then try to extend your leg straight. I can not do this movement for the life of me it's like my brain says do it but my knee doesn't respond. Im scared that being 2 and a half weeks out of surgery i should be able to do this. Has anyone had this issue and is it normal or should i worry? Also how long have peoples stitches been left in? I have 19 stitches in the incision and my doctor doesn't have me coming back in again for another week or so. I will have had my stitches in for about 22 days then. I ask this question because lately my stitches feel very tight and itchy. Maybe im over reacting Im just scared that something isn't right, maybe because this was my first big surgery but I would love any feedback you would like to share.
  Thank you!

Offline crankerchick

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 24
  • How 'bout them Cowboys!
    • Derotation osteotomy & TTT Post-op diary
Re: Im new at this but I had a Fulkerson Osteotomy and have questions.
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2010, 01:55:00 AM »
Hi HonorShort, welcome to the other side LOL!