Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Hi, another newbie who cannot understand her MRI results  (Read 1824 times)

Offline catsandtrees

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Hi, another newbie who cannot understand her MRI results
« on: October 06, 2010, 08:38:10 PM »
Hi,

well first of all I cannot believe there is a forum dedicated to knee problems, amazing!

I would really appreciate some help in understanding what is wrong with my knee, what type of surgery will be performed, what it involves and recovery time etc.  I am a police officer and want to get back out on the street asap.

I got my MRI results today and basically the consultant said he needs to operate on my knee and shave and smooth some bits.  He showed me my scans and to be honest it meant nothing.

This is what was in my MRI results letter.

Focal chondropathy of the medial patellofemoral joint with chondral fissure some thinning of the articular cartilage and subchondra bone marrow oedema in the medial facet of patella.  Small suprapateller joint effusion.  It then says at the bottom, focal osteoarthritis of the patellofemoral joint with chondral fissure and subchondral changes in the medial facet of patella, small joint effusion.

So does this mean that my knee is just abit worn?  I am very nervous about surgery, will I be on crutches afterwards?  consultant said I will be off work for a month afterwards and then will be on desk duties for a while.

Thanks  so much in advance if anyone can try and put this into english.

Offline catsandtrees

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
Re: Hi, another newbie who cannot understand her MRI results
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2010, 04:44:29 PM »
Anybody! ???

Offline Lottiefox

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 16
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2010, 04:55:32 PM »
Hi