Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Searching for surgeon - OH  (Read 846 times)

Offline oilersgirl

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Searching for surgeon - OH
« on: October 05, 2010, 07:20:33 PM »
I am a new member to this board but (unfortunately) an old member of the messed up knees club.

After a partial medial meniscetomy and failed lateral release 2 years ago, Hyalgan injections last year and this year, and being told that I needed bilateral TKR, I found a surgeon who has given me hope that I might be able to get some relief without TKR.  He is talking about doing a Fulkerson osteotomy.  As a medical professional, I understand the commitment this takes on both of our parts, and although I really like this surgeon, he is about 80 miles away, which is not conducive to easy follow up when I might not have someone to drive me some days.

I am halfway between Cleveland and Columbus, OH, and have not been able to find an orthopedist in this area who has the capability of doing this surgery.  Been to American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons and American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons websites, called the offices associated with AAOS and AAHKS, and they can't give me any names because they do not track what surgeons do what procedures.  NOT LOOKING FOR ENDORSEMENTS but looking to find a surgeon who may perform this particular procedure in my area, with whom I can consult.

Any suggestions appreciated - THANKS!

Offline debbieo

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 1
  • Able to will brain energy into muscles and limbs
Re: Searching for surgeon - OH
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2010, 08:26:18 PM »
Consider posting this on the TKR board also.
Wonder Woman
tkr 9.14.09  tibia fracture 04
As Lovely as Aphrodite—as Wise as Athena and the strength of Hercules—she is known only as Wonder Woman, but who she is, or whence she came, nobody knows!  
I WILL NOT BE DEFINED BY WHAT I CAN NOT DO!
http://www.kneeguru.co.uk/KNEEtalk/index.php?topic=48797.0