Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: My name is Lars and I'm an ACLoholic in rehab  (Read 822 times)

Offline firsttimer78

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
My name is Lars and I'm an ACLoholic in rehab
« on: September 09, 2010, 12:23:55 PM »
Hello guys!

I am now getting close to 4 months post op and starting to see some tiny spark of light in the end of the long and depressing (more than expected actually) tunnel! The problem I have is a sharp pain in the back of the knee cap which sort of ruins my rehab. Will come back to this.

I am a surfer, mountain climber, long boarder (asfalt), snowboarder and I work in an action sports mag in Norway. I was operated on in may after tearing my acl in feb while skiing (!) in the forest. I guess since I am fairly new to offpiste skiing, I haven't skied since I was a kid pretty much, I may simply not have had the stamina yet to ski in the area I was skiing in (steep powder mixed with hard snow in offpiste in the woods). The plan was to start freeride skiing this year since the mountains are more accessible on skis rather than the snowboard. Anyway, my legs were tired after a couple of hours, I dropped off a small ledge and I guess I overextended my knee backwards and SNAP! That was when 2010 pretty much turned into a still going disaster...