Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: arthrodesis- how procedure is performed  (Read 1447 times)

Offline John in GA

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
arthrodesis- how procedure is performed
« on: July 20, 2010, 05:59:15 PM »
Hello y'all,
I am completely new to this type of site and so far I'm not really sure to find any replies that I might receive.

Before I go into my tale of wo, and bore you all to tears, this is my question and the answer is very important.

Yesterday My ortho Doc told me that the pain in my knee was due to the loosening of the prosthesis in my TKR.  ( After two revisions within 18 months of the original TKR.)  He says now  I probably need a knee fusion as he is reluctant to do another revision.  It has been about 15 months  since my last revision.
He is a Knee and Hip guy and admits he has never performed a fusion and that he has to meet with his colleagues to decide how to procede.  He said that a rod would be put in my leg from my hip to my ankle.
Also that after the fusion is healed, I would get used to the stiff leg and that my life would continue as normal as ever.  Even said that I would be able to play golf again, which I have not played in the three years I have been dealing with knee.
I hope this isn't boring anyone..... I want to know what the procedure entails, How the  fusion was done and the time it took to be completely recovered.  Even the name of a Doc close to the Atlanta area who performs the procedure.