Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: My ACLr reconstruction - 7 July 2010  (Read 3177 times)

Offline zola

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
My ACLr reconstruction - 7 July 2010
« on: July 13, 2010, 01:20:27 PM »
Hi there all - I have been surfing these boards now for a few months on and off to learn more about my injury, operation and hopeful recovery from those that have gone through the experience themselves..... so now I guess its time to post as I am 6 days post operation and have a few questions and also need a distraction to stop me spending on internet shopping...... (most recent purchase 3 bikinis for £169 and no holidays lined up.... why???!)

A brief biography for those that are interested..... 33 year old female, ruptured right leg ACL end of March 2010 on FIRST DAY of a ski trip. No big drama, a very unlucky fall, knee twisted and popped - knew I had done something but didn't think it was that serious. Got taken to a medical centre, after an embarassing piste- rescue, and the doctor moved my knee around a bit, took an x-ray and told me that I had busted my ACL ....although in French .... and certainly did not learn the phrase 'you have ruptured you anterior cruciate ligament' in French at school, 'Genou'/ 'Knee' yup fine but didn't exactly need a translator to tell me I'd hurt my knee (doh!) So after a bit of the doctor saying 'cruciate' in French a few times, I finally twigged and said to him... 'oh my goodness you mean like the footballlers Michael Essien and (now showing my age here) Casiraghi' and when he said 'Oui Oui Casiraghi' I had a good cry and then started to plan my comeback...................