Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: what is this?  (Read 843 times)

Offline ronsmith

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
what is this?
« on: July 02, 2010, 01:42:43 AM »

Just had my knee scoped and as you can see the orthopedic had lots of clipping to do.
Wont know if it relieved my pain for awhile but I had a question for you.
As I was in recovery doc gave these pictures to my wife and she said that he said the dark area in the bottom left photo (marked by ?) was arthritis.
Now this is what I don't get... isn't all joint problems "arthritis"? Just saying "arthritis" does not tell me what that dark stuff is?
How bad is it?
Am I doomed? LOL
Any idea?
I'm 68 years old.

Maybe image sizes are limited here.. if so here is the link
http://i926.photobucket.com/albums/ad110/camper92663/knee.jpg?t=1278030867

Offline Lottiefox

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 16
Re: what is this?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2010, 08:45:57 AM »
I'm no doctor but I'd say that area is where the cartilage has worn away completely and that is the exposed underlying bone - hence why the doctor called it arthritis. Arthritis means that the cartilage is thinning and eventually it will thin to a point that bone is exposed (grade 4 damage) and when its frayed and cracked but still covers the bone it is grade 3. Many people have cartilage that is gone and the bone is exposed - this can be through sudden trauma or general wear and tear. Cartilage in itself doesn't hurt so it may not cause pain - the bone can certainly cause pain especially if there is no cartilage on the bit opposite where its worn out - the saying of bone of bone. Looks like your doc has done some tidying up and will have washed out all of the crud and loose bits - may well relieve your pain but it does depend on the type of pain you had prior to surgery and how restricted you were.

Hope things improve from the scope!

Lottie  :)
Bilateral patella OA since 2009, no surgeries.
Euflexxa working well x3 to current