Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Ice for swelling  (Read 1378 times)

Offline hmiller48

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Ice for swelling
« on: June 20, 2010, 08:10:28 PM »
hello.  I am an american law student studying in London for five weeks.  I had knee surgery one month ago for a couple small tears. I plan on doing alot of walking while I am here and need to ice my knee at the end of the day to keep swelling down.  The dorms I am staying in only have fridges and no freezer so I am having trouble getting an ice pack.  I am wondering where I can buy instant ice packs in a shop, etc

Thanks

Offline vickster

• Administrator
  • SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 424
  • Neelie knee!
Re: Ice for swelling
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2010, 08:44:24 PM »
Welcome to the UK

You could try a large Boots or Superdrug (UK chains) or buy online if you can wait a couple of days e.g. http://www.physioroom.com/product/PhysioRoom.com_Instant_Ice_Pack/2009/37790.html

http://www.runnersneed.co.uk/home.aspx  This chain has a few branches in London, you could try calling and seeing if they stock (only have reusable on their website).  Likely be cheaper online though  :)
« Last Edit: June 20, 2010, 08:58:52 PM by Vickster »
Came off bike onto concrete 9/9/09 (lat meniscus, lat condyle defect)
LK scopes 8/2/10 & 16/12/10
RK scope 5/2/15 (menisectomy, Hoffa’s fat pad trim)
LK scope 10.1.19 medial meniscectomy, trochlea MFX
LK scope 19.4.21 MFX to both condyles & trochlea, patella cartilage shaved, viscoseal, depo-medrone

Offline anniehine

• Forum Faithful
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2010, 08:55:00 PM »
Hi there, first of all welcome to London  ;D what a shame you can't see the sights without hobbling  ::)