Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Smart Crutches in the UK  (Read 5977 times)

Offline katie

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 0
Smart Crutches in the UK
« on: October 02, 2003, 03:54:48 PM »
OK, basically, I'm still walking with one crutch. And I need to go to job interviews. I have a nice smart suit, I have an appointment to have my hair done... The only thing wrong with my appearance is this flippin' crutch.

So, does anyone know of a decent place in the UK that does stylish crutches? Like, black ones or something. I just want one that says "disabled and OK with it" rather than having to explain this when people ask what I've done. I bought one of the black aluminium walking sticks, but I prefer the stability of an elbow crutch. It's just it looks all silver and "I got this from casualty"

I just want to look less like walking wounded and more like "professional person you'd actually want to hire".
I'm a grouchy software engineer with a sore knee. And I'm bad in the mornings. And I haven't had enough coffee. What was it you wanted doing again?

Offline Happycructchchck

• Regular Poster
Re: Smart Crutches in the UK
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2003, 04:57:04 PM »
Katie,

I went through quite a few interviews when I was non-weight bearing and had this horrible looking brace on.  What I did was explain before I went in what was going on and the response that I got was very welcoming and reassuring.  When I interviewed, I impressed them despite the injured appearance, so I know it can be done and ended up with two job offers at the same time!

Its a pain, and it doesn't help you feel at your best, but it can be done.  I don't have much help on the stylish crutches especially since I am in the US, but I wish you the best on the interviews!  I promise you can WOW them with or without the crutch!

Love,
Paige
RT Tibial Plateau Fracture 5/6/03, 5 pins & 2 plates
Arthroscopy & Manipulation 10/10/03