Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Upcoming osteotomy in June  (Read 784 times)

Offline granite_grl

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Upcoming osteotomy in June
« on: May 14, 2010, 08:13:04 PM »
Greeting...Newbie here that has been lurking for a few weeks. My surgery is now booked and thought I'd introduce myself  :)

I've been dealing with OA for a few years now and have been dealing well enough but the last year the OA has gotten much worse and it's been affecting what I love to do the most and that is rock climb and hike so it's time to get this fixed! My surgery (opening wedge osteotomy) is booked for June 14th and while I am happy that it will be done, I am also terribly nervous! It'll mean a summer with no rock climbing but I am hoping that will turn into many, many years of rock climbing ahead!

I plan on taking two weeks off (I work full time as a Project Manager) for those that have had the same surgery, is two weeks off enough time? I've used up my paid vacation for the year so this will be unpaid time off so I am trying to take as little off as possible. Any feedback would be very much appreciated! Also looking for feedback on total recovery time. My surgeon said 4-6 weeks no weight bearing but didn't mention total recovery time.

Looking forward to getting to know you all and I'll be sure and start a Post-Op diary!

Cheers,
Janet

Offline naturegirl

• Forum Faithful
Re: Upcoming osteotomy in June
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2010, 01:45:15 AM »
Hi Janet!