Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Impossible diagnosis  (Read 1494 times)

Offline Cfireoved

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Impossible diagnosis
« on: February 18, 2010, 07:34:09 PM »
I am a 24 year old skateboarder with a chronic knee problem. I've been skateboarding everyday since I was 13 years old and almost exactly 5 years ago, my life and my knee were changed forever. It was a cold January night in Philadelphia and I had been sitting in my dorm room after a long day of skating. My joints and muscles felt fine, maybe a little sore from skating that day but nothing out of the ordinary. After sitting inside for a few hours, muscles and joints completely relaxed, I got a phone call and had to be at a friends house fast. I grabbed my board and sped out of my warm room into the bitter cold. With no stretching and a heavy foot I began pushing as hard as I could down the freezing cold pavement. After about 45 seconds of constant pushing on my board, my right foot touched the ground and pushed off in an 'excelerate' motion (a push on a skateboard). I immeditely felt something in my knee I had never felt before. It felt as though something insde of my right knee moved, or tore, or shifted, something happened. It wasn't a sharp pain, just something strange and a little uncomfortable. I coasted on my board for a moment, a little cofused about what happened then cautiously continued on my way. As prefaced before, I was a skateboarder and like anyone else, had had my fair share of injuries. I treated this one like anything else that had previously happened and continued skating with the assumption it'd get better. The next day, and those to come, I noticed my knee felt 'different' it had never felt this way and I really didn't know how to react. If felt a little weaker, slightly swollen and 'heavy' when I jumped or made quick movements. It got sore very eaisily and when I focused pressure on it (my right), especially on the inner, medial, portion on my