Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Suggestions about knee issues?  (Read 4287 times)

Offline rebel78

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Suggestions about knee issues?
« on: February 09, 2010, 11:31:04 PM »
First of all, Hi everyone, I am a massage therapist and new to this forum and I am hoping that I can find some help to an issue I've been having with my knees in this site.

I'll try to be brief but give as much detail as possible in regards of my problem.

The problem I've been having with both of my knees is due to a high level of pain that seems to only happen either when I run, walk long distances or go up the stairs repetitively. I can't recall when this started to happen since I haven't have any injuries that might have caused this issue. I try to assume that it might have been caused by a Power Lifting program I did years ago, even though during the training I never suffered form any pain, I just didn't run at that time so I wouldn't have been able to notice any discomfort.

Basically, the pain starts on the lateral side of the knees, usually both knees start hurting at the same time and once the pain is present it starts from little pain to a point that even walking can be painful. The pain extends, as it starts increasing, from the lateral knee towards the center of the knee. It never reaches the medial side nor the frontal (patellar region) or back side of the knee. The pain usually is gone after a night of sleep, unless I spend a day walking, then the pain will be present the next day as well.

At the beginning I thought it was associated with the IT band since the pain would start on the lateral side, but once the pain started to extend to the center, I started wondering if it was more than the IT band or something else.

So far I've only got x-ray done and the came out negative in all aspects, nothing found in them.

Does anyone have any idea what could be the reason of this issue?

Offline rebel78

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)