Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Chafing under knee brace  (Read 16967 times)

Offline mdawson7

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Chafing under knee brace
« on: January 30, 2010, 08:16:04 PM »
Hi,
I was hoping someone might be able to help me.  I wear a Donjoy Defiance ACL knee brace when I play sports, mostly baseball and now racquestball.  I have actually had 3 ACL surgeries over the years and have always had chafing problems with the brace.

After my first surgery I wore a neopren sleeve under the brace but that was think and hot but I still got some chafing on the back of my knee from the straps.  I switched a the lycra knee sleeve after my second surgery but since that is thinner I got worse chafing.  So I started to wear under armor leggings under the sleeve and brace.  That helped a ton but is obvioulsy hot with baseball pants on in the summer.

I just started playing racquetball and didn't want to wear the leggings so I just wore the knee sleeve. After playing today I got bad chafing again.

Any suggestions out there on how I can prevent this?  The braces have all been custom fit so that is not the problem.

Thanks!
ACL on left knee '95.  ACL on left knee '03.  ACL on right knee '07.

Offline Audice

• Global Moderator
  • SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 8
Re: Chafing under knee brace
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2010, 12:30:45 PM »
With my Townsend Premier custom brace was a tubular cotton knit sleeve to use if the brace chafed. You might find something of the same sort at a surgical supply pharmacy. I can't vouch for how well it would work because I didn't have an occasion to use it but it might be worth a try...Ellie
April, 2005 - ACL rupture, medial meniscus tear within posterior horn to articular surface, abnormal signal within lateral meniscus, partial tear MCL, bone contusions tibia/fibula, Baker's cyst.
No repairs.

Offline mmrocker13

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 7
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2010, 02:10:14 AM »