Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Sean's ACL recon and menisectomy  (Read 1273 times)

Offline scdono

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Sean's ACL recon and menisectomy
« on: August 09, 2011, 04:54:52 AM »
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to the site and major knee surgery.  I originally had a scope in December 1999.  The last several years I've been having pain in the general area of my medial meniscus and mcl.  I am an avid runner and enjoy all sports.  On June 14, 2011, I was playing in a church softball game, and hit a ball to right center.  As I was running towards second, I looked into the outfield to see where the ball was located.  When I looked back at second base, I realized I was outside the base path and attempt to quickly recorrect my direction.  Unfortunately, I heard a pop and knew i had done tremendous damage to my knee.  Large horn tear in medial and torn mcl and acl.  On july 21, 2011, I went in for corrective surgery.

I now am 18 days post surgery.  I'm struggling to have complete extension and am worried.  I'm currently 95 degrees flexion.  When should I be worried about not being able to "lock" my knee.  I still have a bit of swelling.
Thanks,
Sean
Knee scope December 1999

Acl reconstruction, patella resection and
Menisectomy, 60% removal of medial meniscus
July 21, 2011

Offline Arity

• Regular Poster
Re: Sean's ACL recon and menisectomy
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2011, 10:48:15 PM »
Hi Sean!

Does your OS or PT have a protocol they are working from?  My OS has specific milestones he wants me to reach within a timeline.  That being said there are so many different protocols.  Have they expressed concern that you are not there yet?  From what I have read on this board there are many different protocols/rehabs and every recovery is different and moves at its own pace but as long as you keep working at it you will eventually get there.

That being said I am no expert.  I am only 11 days post op myself. 

Offline scdono