Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: My Broken Patellas  (Read 703 times)

Offline bubble17

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
My Broken Patellas
« on: December 19, 2009, 09:26:19 PM »
Hello all,

I've been following some of the posts on this site for a few months now and have found it very useful so I thought it might be time that I posted myself.

I am a 20 year old student, and I had an accident about 9 months ago, March '09, and ended up breaking both patellas, a femur, and a few other things. I was admitted to hospital and taken to surgery the next day, after which I emerged with an abundance of hardware, wires, pins, screws and a rod. I spent two weeks in hospital. Not moving gave me me severe muscle atrophy, it took a long time to stand up and I could not bend either leg at all. Trying to sleep was the worst of it. I was in a high dependency ward, on a morphine drip desperately trying to prove to the occupational therapist that I would be much better off at home. And after some help from my Dad, proved my point by walking stiffly with crutches and splints on both legs.

After being back home lying still for a while and spending two days in a wheel chair I decided it was time for crutches, and remained with them for 8 weeks before I could walk unaided. I was really worried about walking with a limp - my doctor told me I would be walking with one for nearly a year, but it was gone within 3 months of the accident date. Then, after 3 months of sitting on a chair in the shower, renting a stationary bike for ROM, countless physical therapy sessions and a lot of practice with stairs I gained full ROM and moved to Australia on my own to do a year abroad as part of my University course. I am thankful that prior to moving my course did not require me to spend time close to uni while I was recovering, and completed all my end of year work from my bed.