Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Docs cant say what's wrong with my knee  (Read 840 times)

Offline Grappler-mma

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Docs cant say what's wrong with my knee
« on: December 09, 2009, 08:20:18 PM »
Hi everyone, my name is Yves and i'm an amateur wrestler/mma competitor.

i've been off the mats for a couple of months because of a recuring knee injury, it pops out when it is fully bent and there is pressure on my patella, like when i'm on my knees with my butt on my heels, or during some grappling action(reversal from the "guard" usnig "butterfly hooks"); . Otherwise nothing happens. i need to extend my leg to get my knee back where it should be, and it's quite painful. Then it just pops back in.

i basically cant be on my knees, constantly afraid of my knee sliding out of the socket.

it's been a couple of months since it first happened. 5 weeks ago i decided to stop trying and to get it checked. MRi, X-Ray, Scan, doc, ostheopath, none of them could see anything wrong with my knee. At that time the injury was fresh and i didnt want them to bend my knee though. But still, scans and X-ray show a healthy knee, ligaments,tendons, and the meniscus dont show any sign of damage..

The ostheopath and the surgeon both said my knees were really loose, hyperflexible they say. Might be an explanation, but they havent seen anything else that would ressemble a cause for an injury.

After 5 weeks off, i can squat all the way down. But i'm still afraid of being on my knees with my butt resting on my heels, that's how it has happened most of the time.
  i've never had any real pain apart from the moments when it pops out(it is grueling until i get it back where it should be and my mobility is reduced for a week or so)

Some doctors say it could be the meniscus, some others think it might be the patella, and my ostheopath mentionned hyperflexibility.