Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: I really need some good advice regarding exercise  (Read 745 times)

Offline heretolisten

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
I really need some good advice regarding exercise
« on: December 08, 2009, 07:54:58 AM »
Hi
Newbie here
I will try and be brief. I am a 58 year old male, over the last 14 years or so, I have had 3 arthroscopies in my right leg and one in the left, the last op being bilateral 2 years ago. My latest xrays showed the OS that I need a PKR in my right knee in the not too distant future and probably the same in my left following that.

Now the crazy part. I have been skiing every winter for the last 20 years and cannot bear the thought of giving up. Actual skiing is not possible for me now as I can only manage a few hours then I feel really unstable however, 2 years ago I discovered snow bikes and alhough you wear short skis, you are basicaslly sat down with not too much pressure on the knees. My wife, who has also got OA in her knees really enjoys the biking too.

A week before I go, I have steroid injections in both knees and this keeps me pain free for the duration of the holiday if I am sensible. The problem is, I haven't been very active over the last 6 months or so and I need to start getting some degree of fitness, it's not so much the snow biking but the walking about in ski boots that is painful. Could anyone recommend some exercises to enable me to get some strength into my legs. I cycle a couple of times a week but this is difficult with the weather. I have an exercise bike in the house and have started to use that every day. Is there anything else I can do to strengthen my legs. I know about squats but I find these very painful, should I persevere with these or will that make matters worse. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Offline MorganaKC

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
Re: I really need some good advice regarding exercise
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2009, 08:36:00 AM »
Hey there,