Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: pain/catching s/p meniscectomy and shaving of cartilage( long, sorry)  (Read 5179 times)

Offline jrwest100

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Hello- a nOOb here :). I am having a concern. start with brief hx. Back in feb of this year, i noticed i was having swelling in my left lower extremety. pcp sent me for u/s to r/o dvt- which was negative. But on palpation, it was noted to be VERY tender on the inside of the knee, and also very tender on the medial aspect of the shin. pcp said probable meniscus tear, gave me nsaids, and sent me on my merry way. now I work as an RN on a vert busy acute care floor, and a lot of times we dont get breaks for 6-8 hours into the shift, standing/running the whole time.about september, i was getting to the point I would be limping 5 hours into the shift- got to the point I couldnt hardly walk anymore. Went to pcp who dx me with pes anserine bursitis. Sent me for x rays, which showed slight degeneration in the RIGHT knee. I begged for a referral to OS. He dx me right away with meniscal tear- based on how much I flew off the table when he palpated the area- said the bursitis was from walking abnl. Now I am almost 2 weeks post arthroscopy. medial knee pain is not as bad, but when I walk, if i turn just wrong, i get an excruciating catching in the middle of my knee below the kneecap. Also the more i walk , the worse things get. I am still having to use one crutch. Doc made aware of this- says I need to start exercises( straight leg with gradual increases of weight EOD starting at 2.5 lb up to 10lbs. Have noticed this helping in the straightening dept, but still have pain on walking. Forgot to mention- OS said that femoral cartilage was cracked, and he cleaned it up by removing the shreds.