Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Unusual knee problem  (Read 1012 times)

Offline Jonathan TKD

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Unusual knee problem
« on: September 22, 2009, 08:10:14 PM »
Hi,

I have an unusual knee problem. I'm a martial artist and flexibility is very important to me, but my knees are limiting my progress in certain areas. If I try to stretch for a side split, the pain in my knees (I'll describe it shortly) prevents me before any stretch is felt. Similarly, if I sit on the floor and spread my legs back (think v-shape), then try to lean forward, the pain comes back. High kicks can sometimes trigger it also, in positions my fellow students have no trouble with.

Cycling up steep hills also causes pain - not quite the same, but more than average. The stretching pain is on the outside of my knee - IT band area - though I can't see it being the IT band as a side split doesn't apply any stretch in that area. It feels like a tightness, a pulling sensation, though a great deal more sharp than the kind I would associate with stretching.

The only thing I can think of as a possible factor is that when I was a kid, I would sit in this horrendous way that I can't get anywhere near anymore without pain (I tried as an experiment, very briefly). Imagine kneeling on the floor, then rotating your bent legs 90 degrees outwards so they are horizontal.

If anyone has any theories whatsoever or would like any other information, please do not hesitate to post.

Thanks, Jonathan.

Offline crankerchick

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 25
  • How 'bout them Cowboys!
    • Derotation osteotomy & TTT Post-op diary
Re: Unusual knee problem
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2009, 10:26:10 PM »
Do you mean like this?
http://www.laurenwelle.com/2008/06/13/just-say-no-to-w-sitting/