Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Questioning recent meniscectomy -Is it time for 2nd opinion?  (Read 770 times)

Offline ktustis

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Questioning recent meniscectomy -Is it time for 2nd opinion?
« on: September 15, 2009, 09:27:30 AM »
Hi everyone! I'm a newbie here and was wondering if you all could help me with some insight on my recent surgery.

History: Injured myself while water tubing - had a straight legged landing on the tube and heard a poping sound and had my knee gave medially and foot went laterally.  ER X-ray was neg. Saw OS week later and had MRI. Showed Ruptured ACL, stage 1 MCL tear  &  Medial lateral meniscus tear, as well as Bakers Cyst , and bone bruising. OS called back and referred to another OS who specialized in ACL's.  Went to family friend recommended OS who got me in immediately (not the previously recommended OS) and felt upon exam & reviewing MRI, that I did not have ACL damage. Had surgery 5 days later (as I said, was a friend of the family) and had a meniscectomy (28 days since accident ). Was seen day 2 for post op & sent home with list of exercises- no PT ordered. Was feeling much better after surgery and called first OS (who goes to our church & has operated on my Mom) to let him know the good news of the "no ACL tear". He was very upset I did not see his recommended OS and said he still feels I may have a "internally ruptured" ACL which while visibly appearing intact could still be functionally torn.